

January 22, 2015

Colleen M. Murphy, Executive Director and General Counsel Freedom of Information Commission 18-20 Trinity Street, 1st Floor Hartford, CT 06106

Carol Carson, Executive Director Office of State Ethics 18-20 Trinity Street, Suite 205 Hartford, CT 06106-1660

Michael J. Brandi, Executive Director State Elections Enforcement Commission 20 Trinity Street Hartford CT 06106

Dear Ms. Murphy, Ms. Carson, and Mr. Brandi:

As you know, the Office of Policy and Management has projected an increased General Fund deficit for fiscal year 2015, despite November's allotment reductions, hiring limitations, contract reductions, and other management actions to address the shortfall. The latest projections are a result of revised revenues from the January consensus forecast as well as increasing Medicaid expenditure trends. Your willingness to be a partner in achieving a positive outcome for this fiscal year is greatly appreciated, and I know we share the desire for the state end the fiscal year with its budget in balance.

Accordingly, I am further rescinding allotment requisitions or allotments in force for the Legislative, Judicial and Executive branches effective February 1, 2015. With this is mind, I ask that you voluntarily reduce spending in your agencies by an additional one percent this fiscal year beyond the levels you agreed to in November, which is in line with the rescissions that are being imposed on other agencies.

	Additional 1%
Account	Reduction
12481 – Citizens' Election Fund Administration Account	19,487
12522 – Elections Enforcement Commission	14,912
12523 – Office of State Ethics	15,058
12524 – Freedom of Information Commission	16,570

Please respond in writing to Secretary Barnes of the Office of Policy and Management not later than January 30, 2015. Thank you in advance for your thoughtful and prompt attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

the

Dannel P. Malloy Governor

cc:

The Honorable Martin M. Looney, President Pro Tempore, State Senate The Honorable J. Brendan Sharkey, Speaker of the House The Honorable Bob Duff, Senate Majority Leader The Honorable Joseph Aresimowicz, House of Representatives Majority Leader The Honorable Leonard Fasano, Senate Minority Leader The Honorable Themis Klarides, House of Representatives Minority Leader The Honorable Beth Bye, Co-Chair Appropriations Committee The Honorable Toni Walker, Co-Chair Appropriations Committee Shelby J. Brown, OGA Executive Administrator Ben Barnes, Office of Policy and Management Robert Wysock, Acting Director, Office of Fiscal Analysis